Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple AM modulation Question - Thanks.

Status
Not open for further replies.

fouadalnoor

Hey guys, I am studying for my exam now and while reading up on my notes I got stuck at the question 2 attached.

I got my modulation factor to be 0.23 so modulation index of 23% (Vppmin = 0.25 and VppMax = 0.4)

I know the equation for amplitude modulation is:

Vam(t) = (Vc+Kam*Vm(t))cos(2*pi*fct)

I know fc = 400Hz, but how do I get the DC offset (Vc) and the modulation sensitivity Kam?

I mean, how can I sketch it etc without knowing Vm(t)?

Hope you can help!

Attachments

• Question.png
    Question.png
    62.3 KB · Views: 138
Last edited:
Hi fouad,

Where is that first lecture the link shows?
Also, that lower case 'v' in Vam(t) = (Vc+Kam*Vm(t))cos(2vfct) is supposed to be 'pi' right? So it is:
Vam(t) = (Vc+Ka*m*Vm(t))*cos(2*pi*fc*t)
right?
You might be able to graph this if you label the Y axis as "Vc" and "Ka*Vm" or something like that to show where those appear as cos() is periodic.
Also, you are saying that the peak to peak max is 0.4 volts and peak to peak min is 0.25 volts?

Can we see that "first lecture"?

Last edited:
Hi fouad,

Where is that first lecture the link shows?
Also, that lower case 'v' in Vam(t) = (Vc+Kam*Vm(t))cos(2vfct) is supposed to be 'pi' right? So it is:
Vam(t) = (Vc+Ka*m*Vm(t))*cos(2*pi*fc*t)
right?