Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LM3914N Woes..

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDove

Hi All,

I am an electronic newbie... there now I said it!

I have managed to build a volt meter using the LM3914N in my software simulator called livewire. It works great...Here is is below

**broken link removed**

The woes I have are due to the fact that I dont really understand WHY it works. And I was hoping someone would help. I have the following questions :)

1) Given a voltage X for V1 ( which I have set variable from 0 to 2.8V ) how what are the formulaes for adjusting the R1 and R2 to make it work

2) I dont really understand, even after reading the pdf manual, the whole relationship between ADJ pin 8 and the RH pin 6 and OUT pint 7. Is the a relationship there to the signal volage ( ie is there a maximum )

What would be cool if someone could explain in simple language what I have to do and why if I pick a volatage range for V1.

I hope its not too much, the specs just baffle me - I can of course copy from examples but its more of a case of monkey see monkey can do at the moment with not a lot of understanding occurring.

Thanks - some kind soul take pity

Peter

Hi Peter.
Your circuit won't work and your sim program is stupid not to know.