1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Up/Down Counter Circuit

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by Mastahh, Nov 20, 2010.

  1. Mastahh

    Mastahh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    0
    Hey,

    I think you are misunderstanding me.
    Its ONLY to count a 'ten' UP.
    Not down.

    But,

    To count the 'hundred' up and down.
    Along with everything else.

    If that is alright??

    Thanks

    =]
     
  2. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,241
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi,
    I believe this is close to what you are asking.

    The circuit is growing like a Christmas tree, its getting very messy...;)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Mastahh

    Mastahh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    0
    Hey,

    Update to the circuit:

    1. The Tens Work (Thanks), But Do Not Update The Next Numbers, eg, 10,20,30...80,90,00 (<-- should be 100),10...
    2. The Original PTMs that count up and down in stages of one count all the digits updated: 0000,0111,0222,0333,0444,0555 etc
    3. Also, sorry about this part, but if it is possible, i need it to count down in the hundreds too, along with the count up. Thanks

    Thanks for all your help. I would be grateful if you know a solution to the above problems.

    Thanks

    =]
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      65.3 KB
      Views:
      534
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,241
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE

    Hi,
    You have a wiring error.

    I will try to look at your other requirement later on, busy at the present.

    Try to figure it out yourself and post a diagram.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,241
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    Hi,
    This circuit has a Global Up/down of the Units/tens/hundreds and a U/D for 10's and U/D for 100's.

    This is the best I can do with this circuit, IMHO your approach in using this counter to solve the coin counting problem is the wrong way to go.:)

    Especially as all you are doing is feeding the outputs of this counter into a PIC.

    I know that you must use the Genie PIC, but I would have thought it would have quicker and more elegant [ more cost effective] if you did the counting in the PIC.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Mastahh

    Mastahh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    0
    Hey,

    The Tens/Hundreds count up still, but not down.

    I am also still stuck with the problem of the units.

    It counts like 0000,0111,0222,0333 etc.

    What would you suggest to solve this problem??

    Also, you mentioned that it would be easier to program the PIC to count up. How would you say i could do this. If it is much easier, then why not have a go for it??

    Thanks for all your help!!

    =]
     
  8. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,241
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    I suspect you have a wiring error, in simulation it all works as expected.

    Did you correct that error pointed out earlier.?

    My problem with the Genie is that I dont have the hardware and most of the software to write and test code.

    Can you say where in the UK you are.?? City/Town
     
  9. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,241
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi,
    I have an error, I deleted a couple of lines while resizing the circuit to make it fit.
    Add the links from CIN as shown here.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Mastahh

    Mastahh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    0
    Hey,

    My problems, unfortunately, continue to persist.

    Firstly, the units count up and down now, but the tens do not change automatically (0000,0001,0002,0003...0008,0009,0000)

    Secondly, both switches to count up and down for both the tens and hundreds to do work at all.

    Those are the problems i can currently identify.
    Attached is my circuit diagram.

    Thanks

    =]

    PS. I am from London. I do not see how this is relevant to the circuit??
     

    Attached Files:

    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      122.1 KB
      Views:
      189
  11. Mastahh

    Mastahh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    0
    Also, i am sorry for the consistently bad quality screenshots of my circuit.
    Like you said before, it is a big and messy circuit.
    Due to this, i am unable to get the whole circuit big and clear on my screen.
     
  12. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,241
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE

    hi,
    The circuit is counting up/down on the decades as I would expect without any problems, inspect this plot.

    The fact that you are from London is NOT relevant to thus circuit, I would have considered visiting you to give you a hand if you had been closer.

    This diagram is the last I can post for some time as I busy on other projects, I hope it goes well for you.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Mastahh

    Mastahh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    0
    Hey,

    I am not sure when you will reply but thanks for all your help so far.

    Attached is my circuit, which i have tried to copy as exactly as possible.

    Your have to look at the displays right to left.

    My only problems are that the tens and hundreds are not counting at all.

    Thanks a lot

    =]
     

    Attached Files:

    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      84.2 KB
      Views:
      147
  14. Mastahh

    Mastahh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    0
    Hey all.

    I am trying to make a circuit using the 4029 and 4511 that counts up and down.

    So far it counts up and down in stages of one.

    How would i make it count up and down in stages of 10 and 100 along with 1?

    In other words, i want to do the following...

    0000,0001,0002...0008,0009,0010,0011 etc
    0000,0010,0020...0080,0090,0100,0110 etc
    0000,0100,0200...0800,0900,1000,1100 etc

    Thanks a lot in advance

    =]

    [The attachment below is my circuit so far, that already counts in stages of 1]
     

    Attached Files:

  15. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,241
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi,
    I have spent quite some time today trying to make the circuit count up and down when using a global u/d , a tens u/d and a hundreds u/d.

    The problem is that you are wanting to count all the decades u/d in the correct dec/inc counting sequence from where ever you inject an u/d pulse ie: units/tens/hundreds injection point, using a combination of opto coupler switches and push to make switches.

    I see you you now have a 1000's decade.!

    It can be done but IMHO the circuit is totally unrealistic for what you are using it for.

    Make a fresh start and use some other method for getting the coin count into the PIC.
     
  16. ben7

    ben7 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    558
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Trenton NJ, USA
    You can figure out your question by thinking!

    You already posted a thread about this in the same fourm section! :mad:
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2010
  17. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,241
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    Try this circuit in your simulator.

    Add the 1000's decade yourself.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Mastahh

    Mastahh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    0
    Hey,

    I know this must be getting annoying and so i apoogise for that.

    I have connected up the circuit with the 4 pin AND and OR gates.

    All the switches count up/down only in the units decade.

    How can i prevent this?

    Thanks

    =]

    [Sorry again for the constant bother]
     

    Attached Files:

    • 5.jpg
      5.jpg
      File size:
      94 KB
      Views:
      156
  19. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,241
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi,
    Its not a bother, its more frustrating because we are not getting an agreed result, so let me explain what I think you are asking..:)

    Assume that the counter is displaying 000
    I press the units UP key 111 times, I expect the display to show '111'
    pressing the units DOWN key 111 times I would expect to show '000'.

    OK so far
    Assume I have '888' displayed.
    I press the units UP key once, so number displayed is 889

    I press the tens UP key once I expect to see 899 displayed
    I press the hunds UP key once I expect 999

    OK,

    I press the hunds DOWN key 9 times I will see 099
    I press the tens DOWN key 9 times I will see 009
    Pressing the units DOWN key 9 times I will see 000

    Is this what you are expecting from the counter, if not please give a numeric description of what you want.???
     
  20. Mastahh

    Mastahh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    0
    Hey,

    Yes, that is exactly what i wish to have
     
  21. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,241
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi,
    I can see a problem, for that sequence we have to control the states of the CIN and COUT pins between each 4029, depending upon which U/D key pair being used, to clock individual 4029's,,, units,tens,huns,thou....
    It really an impractical solution as I have explained,, the circuit is going to keep growing and growing.

    My advice is to completely rethink the counting method.
     

Share This Page