Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

timing parallel pins

Status
Not open for further replies.

xiptron

Hi all. I have a unique challenge that I can't find an answer to on the net. I have NO experience with programming so am relying on those with the knowledge to help me. I think I need a small program written to do my task.

I am interfacing a standard printer port to a video projector so I can control the functions of zoom, shift, etc by using my pc. So far it works well, with a hi from pins 2 to 9 (data 0 to 8) turning on npn transistors wired across the pressure pads in the projectors remote-control (there is no serial access these functions).

However, I want to "time" the various outputs to stay on for fixed durations, rather than triggering and holding the outputs high by generic software switches.

Is it possible that a small program could be written (in C?) to time each required pin high for a certain time?

Here is the sequence I need:

PRINTER PORT
Step 1 - Pin 9: take high for 1 second.
Step 2- wait 1/4 second
Step 3 - Pin 8: take high for 9 seconds
Step 4 - wait 1/4 second
Step 5 - Pin 6: take high for one second
Step 6 - wait 1/4 second
Step 7 - Pin 5: take high for 5 seconds
Step 8 - wait 1/4 second
Step 9 - Pin 2: take high for 3 seconds

The wait states are due to the projectors need to handle these commands in sequence, i.e. not all at once.