Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Timer on/off delay

Zool

Hi All. This is my first time here. and can i just say thanks for having me.
i am a tinkerer in my spare time. I do IT for a living and am a big gamer and 3d printer.
I am designing pistol grips for my VR headset. and i am wanting to re-produce recoil on the gun grips.
i have a nice little spring loaded solinoid that gived a good feeling then supplied with an sharp on off of power.
But i would like a simple circuit so that then you press the button it supplies power to the servo for lets say .2 of a second. then cuts the power. even if you are still holding the button down.
Can anyone help with the smallest simplest design i could possably use? also my electronics knowledge is limited at best. but i can solder and i am not stupic

Since it probably is safe to assume that the switch will be pressed for longer than 0.2 s every time, this is pretty simple. While a true monostable circuit will work, you don't need the input management provided by positive feedback. IOW, a simple pulse-former or "boxcar" circuit will work.

To do this, we need to know the voltage available to drive the solenoid. and the solenoid resistance.

Also, what is the minimum time between successive switch presses? If it is very short, the circuit will need a little extra to reset the timing capacitor each cycle.