Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Petrol Generator question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys, I can't for the life of me find out how many poles (or the rated engine rpm, with which I could calculate the number of poles) the following generator has:

**broken link removed**

I'm not very good with electrical machines but I assume it's a synchronous generator, in which case I only need to know one of the two (no. of poles or engine rpm).

Any ideas?

Thanks, Mike.

Why do you want to know?

I think it is highly likely to be 3000 rpm / 2 poles because the engine is quite small, and a quick google of the engine no gives Open Frame Heavy Duty Generator which says 3000 rpm.

Small engines like that generally run a quite high revs. The exception is on some lawnmowers where the speed is kept down to keep the blade tip speed low, to keep them quiet and to stop stones being thrown too fast.

Well I need to know as I'm trying to work out the generator k value (constant which represents the construction of the machine). This is so I can remove the engine supplied with the generator and couple another engine to it, allowing me to use only the generator electrical output to characterise the engine.

Thanks for the reply - I'll ask some mechanical colleagues to verify that for me.

I agree with Diver300. Looking at your specifications in part:

Specification

Maximum output: 5.5kw

Continuous output: 5.0kw

AC Voltage: 230v/115v

DC Voltage: 12v

Frequency: 50hz