Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

odd signals from transimpendance amplifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

BraveWart

I am building a setup to be able to read the reflected light from a laser beam with a photodiode, which I have never done before.
so I bought this photodiode and this transimpendance amplifier. But after wiring it up, I didnt get any useful readings from the TIA.
So I I reduced the voltage from my signal generator with a voltage divider and checked in on the oscilloscope.

But I I cannot interpret what I am seeing there:

PXL_20230212_133435665.jpg

sine

PXL_20230212_133441292.jpg

square

PXL_20230212_133444730.jpg

triangle

This is my setup
PXL_20230212_133618239.jpg

Is this a case of a broken module?
Is the voltage divider wrong? P-P amplitude from the signal generator is about 5.6V. I reduced this to around 500mV with the Voltage divider

I expected it to mirror the input signal at a simnifically increased voltage level.
Is using a waveform generator for testing the wrong approach?
I am a hobbyist and this is all a bit trial and error for me.

I know the photodiode works as it reacts to light when connecting directly to the oscilloscope.

Attachments

• PXL_20230212_133441292.jpg
    PXL_20230212_133441292.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 162