Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

HomeBrew Beer

Status
Not open for further replies.

bryan1

G'day Guy's
Well on the quest to save money and still have a beer I started brewing my own after close to a decade. I went for a lager and after 5 weeks of low temps I have to say this beer is the best I've ever tasted. The second brew I've got going is brewing at true largering temps so should be even better.

Ok the mix I did

1 Tim of coopers Larger
1 kg extra light malt extract in powder form
a 15 g packet of Sazz hops
S-23 SaFLager yeast

The Sg was 1044 at the start and 1004 at the finish

3 weeks in the fridge and the beer is keeping a good head and has that smooth to the taste nothing I've paid for has come close to the taste of this brew.

The second brew came in at 1054 and after two weeks the reading was 1019 so atleast another week at that low temp.

Anyway after 10 pale ales and a couple of HB's one can say this guy is in one happy state

Cheers Bryan

Last edited:
It also taste's better as you made it yourself...I used to make my own pilsner ( this is why I look like my avatar ), I made a job lot once, it flopped... not giving up I re-fermented the same brew....it flopped... tried once more....damm, I gave up... (Remember adding more yeast and sugar each time)... I forgot it was at the back of the garage for over two years....My god!!! when we discovered it, it was like rocket fuel... My brother was p*****d after half a bottle.... Never brewed a drop since.