Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Aversive stimulus detector

Status
Not open for further replies.

snipervvolf

Good afternoon!
I'm a student studying behavioral biology and I am in the process of designing an automated apparatus for my research on aversive conditioning in honey bees.

I am trying to power a relay from shock traveling through a bee. I would like to record how often and at what time a bee is receiving shock during a five minute trial session. These will be very quick and very light pulses that will need to trigger a relay to communicate with my interface for real-time recording of aversive stimuli application to the subject. Minimizing delay and maintaining chronological acuity is paramount.

I was able to devise a circuit using a 7805 and a 741 that worked somewhat, however, it was immensely unstable and unreliable. My power source will be an ac-dc adapter and the range of input voltages will be from 5v-12v.

I just need a binary output of when the bee receives shock, nothing really fancy or anything like that. It just needs to work at 5-12v if that is possible.

Would anyone be willing to assist with this circuit design? I'm not even sure where to start as far as adapting another circuit design to facilitate my needs for this circuit's application.

Thank you so much for any direction you may be able to provide!

Best wishes,
~Chris