Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

window screen proximity alarm

Status
Not open for further replies.

nederlander

Is there a simple circuit that would allow me to activate an alarm should someone touch any of the window screens on my house? I have some basic electrical experience.

thanks
Nederlander

Metallic screens?

This is a great idea for home-security. They don't even get to touch the window before the alarm goes off! Or maybe people are stealing your screens? I think you could have a circuit sense the change in capacitance when someone touches the screen. Since it's metal it should be easy to 'interface' with!

the windows may be painted, so the idea of bird man may help.

try this: take a transistor wire it in switching mode and take another transistor couple it with the first and get a 2 stage amp. then the output can be fed to a 555's(wired in astable mode with speaker at pin 3) reset pin (4) and there you have it!

a voltage divider network must be used at the first transistors's base and wire it as the sensor( to the frame)

More questions, first. For basic circuits to be useful, the screens and their metal frames need to be isolated from earth. In my house the wire mesh that supports the stucco is also touching other things like gas and water pipes, and electrical conduits.

You probably don't have this, but it's good to know before you build something.