Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

thanks for the help...i figured it out

Status
Not open for further replies.

Derpywizardd

Hello,
I'm relatively new to electronics. I was recently tasked by my employer to create a circuit that would be able to move a motor. I set up a simple circuit with a switch and a battery connected to a motor. Now, I need to make the motor move 180 degrees then turn in the other direction and turn another 180 degrees and have that loop. Are there any motors that can move 180 degrees?

Last edited:
A standard DC motor cannot do what you wish for (Unless the DC motor has a gearbox). You can do it with a servo or a stepper motor. Though they both would need* a microcontroller to control them.

*Could possibly be done using other** options.
** More components.

A standard DC motor cannot do what you wish for (Unless the DC motor has a gearbox). You can do it with a servo or a stepper motor. Though they both would need* a microcontroller to control them.

*Could possibly be done using other** options.
** More components.
Is it possible to have one switch move the DC motor forward, and another backward?

Last edited:
Is it possible to have one switch move the DC motor forward, and another backward? If so, how?

Yes. With a reversible DC motor a single DPDT (Double Pole Double Throw) switch can be used. Preferably On-Off-On with the center position off. The circuit would look a little like the below drawing:

Motor Reverse Switch.png