Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Soft-RS232 on 12F675 ~ Not syncning?

Status
Not open for further replies.

johankj

Hello all. This is my first post, althought I've been reading this forum quite a bit. Excellent stuff! Anyways, I hope there is someone out there that can help me with my little PIC-Chip. :eek:

I'm a novice with PICs, but I have a good project which require RS232. I have managed to to it with a 16F627, but I need ADC on a small footsprint, so I went for the 12F675.

After I rewrote the code to fit the 12F675, I just couldn't get it working. :( I was banging my head against the wall for weeks, but I just couldn't figure out why. :mad:

My suspicion is that I overwrote the OSCCAL values. I'm not sure if I can read the location of that value, since the programmer I'm using (Velleman) is not that good. If I jump to that address, as part of the recommended calibrarion routine, the PIC hangs. I'm pretty sure it's lost, is this what you would expect from an overwritten OSCCAL value? 3F3F, I'm not even sure what that transelates to in Opcode. I've ordered a proper programmer, which should arrive next week :D

BTW: Two good links to pages regarding OSCCAL:
**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**

I'll post my code below for anyone to check. Sorry for the mess, couldn't get the table thing to work. I've written it as simple as possible, with no trixi parts. Is my code ok? Does it do what I want it to do? (Which is to output an ASCII letter every now and then :p )