Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Photographic slave-triggers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Centretek

As a keen amateur photographer, I used to have a studio setup using slave flash triggers. However some dirty mongrel burgled my house and stole all my camera gear.
I've replaced most of it but the flash triggers are now about $70 each so I want to build a few.
Searching the net, all I can find are silly PIC contolled units and others that require batteries.
The originals, used on cheap small flash units, used the 200-400 volts of the flash capacitors for power, this appears on the flash trigger lead; no extra wiring was involved, you just plugged the flash into the trigger unit and the main flash would set them all off.
Anyone out there have a circuit for such a beast?

Centretek, I might have a circuit like that, I would have to look around. I know what you are talking about. The main reason they seem hard to find now is that most flashes have a low voltage interface to the camera. Just to be sure we are thinking the same thing, you are referring to an optical slave, correct? I.e. not the kind that are hard wired to a shoe-adapter type thing.

Slave flash

Hi Centretek,

don't spend unnecessary money for a simple circuit. Here is the example of a "Tochterblitz" (Tochter=daughter and blitz=flash) "Mother" flashes first and "daughter" follows right away.

If you are interested I'll translate the entire article for you and will also supply the PCB layout. Just PM me.