Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Mosfets

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

This is my first post! I'm a complete beginner to electronics and I'm trying to learn about MOSFETS.

So far I can see that there are 2 types N-Types and P-Types.

As far as I understand each of these has 3 pins - Gate, Source and Drain.

My question is does current flow from Drain to Source in both N and P-types, or does the current flow differ?

If it differs what happens if the Drain and Source are incorrectly wired.

Thanks in advance

In an N-channel MOSFET the current normally flows from Drain to Source. The MOSFET controls the current, depending on the Gate voltage.

MOSFETS contain a diode, so they will conduct in reverse whatever the gate voltage, generally with a voltage drop of about 0.6 V. However, the MOSFET will conduct in reverse if the Gate voltage is raised and then the voltage drop in reverse may be less than 0.6 V.

The current normally flows from Source to Drain in a P-channel MOSFET.

Thank you for your quick reply.

So basically a P-channel MOSFET could be used to do the same job as an n-channel MOSFET (I know the gate logic would be switched) if the drain and source terminals were wired the other way around?

Out of interest what happens if you incorrectly wire the source and the drain?

Thanks once again