Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Illuminated Kitchen Handles!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

bukokhe

Hi!

I'm an extreme novice to electronics and here is my project:

To design an illuminated kitchen handle that works on a dusk to dawn principle but only lights up when activated by motion.

I need to integrate 2 circuits: a dusk to dawn circuit and a PIR / motion activated circuit.

HELP???

I already have a working LDR circuit for the dusk to dawn part, I just need someone to please help me figure out how to add the IR sensor into it??

Please help??:confused:

Fascinating , I have something very much like it in mind for the kitchen at our place. Julie has been asking for under cupboard lighting this christmas and I thought it would be a neat trick to use the PIR sensor module from a sentry light to switch them on and off. Price wise it is far cheaper to hack an existing module than buy the parts individually.

HarveyH42 said:
What are kitchen handles? I don't speak British to well...
Handles on the kitchen cupboards?

The only actual difficult part of this kind of project is figuring out how to get power to the device without possibly killing people, or starting fires =)

You need to make each lighted handle work wirelessly!
A big battery hidden in behind the handle that you can charge in the daytime.
Never mind the cost.

if your budget is largish, how about this

1) a lithium coin cell or a pair of aaa batteries for 3v
2) an led or two of chosen color