Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with LED sequencer

Status
Not open for further replies.

RyanKunk

Help troubleshooting LED sequencer?

Im pretty new to all this but ive worked this up. evertime i press the button it goes to the next LED. I will be using this as the basis for a cable tester. the only problem is that there is a pause between LED 8 and LED 9, the switchover between 4017's. another small thing when the simulation starts up it lights up a few random LED's untill i depress the button. could just be a simulation error.

Attachments

• Circuit.jpg
    Circuit.jpg
    896.9 KB · Views: 1,005
Last edited:
Pin Q5-9 is an output, you have it shorted to Vss. Leave it open.

And add a .1uf decoupling cap across the power supply near the counters.

Im pretty new to all this but ive worked this up. evertime i press the button it goes to the next LED. I will be using this as the basis for a cable tester. the only problem is that there is a pause between LED 8 and LED 9, the switchover between 4017's. another small thing when the simulation starts up it lights up a few random LED's untill i depress the button. could just be a simulation error.

hi,
Q5-9 on the 1st 4017 is the output to clock the next 4017.

Also use a gate for the RESET line together with the Q5-9 going low on the 2nd 4017 OR this with a 47K and 100nF cap [across the supply rails] as a power on RESET.

Do you follow OK.?:)