Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

1/f (pink noise) generator in the ELF band

Status
Not open for further replies.

researcher

Hello Guys,

I am a cancer researcher and for one of my research project I want to build a special device. The major component of the device is a 1/f noise generator. The problem is that I need extremely low frequency noise in the range from 0.001Hz - 100Hz having 1/f power spectral density.
Does anybody has any idea how this unique 1/f noise generator can be constructed? Any suggestions, recommendations or source are very appreciated!

(However I have biology background, I am very familiar in electronics, so I can easily build many devices according to the proper schematic. Unfortunately my expertise is not enough to design a circuit.)

Thanks

That frequency range is so low that you probably could grow a noise pattern in software more reliably than with traditional noise techniques. After all, how do you measure/test random AM and FM or calculate an FFT at 1/1000 Hz? 1/2 cycle is over 8 minutes.

A six decade bandwidth means a 60 dB power range or 120 dB voltage range. Difficult, becaused opamps and things have heir own 1/f noise.

This is *not* a normal question.

ak

Thanks.

I know very well, this was not a normal question. If it would be, I could find the solution.

I need this extremely low frequency range, because the physiological processes in the living organisms also produce fluctuations in the same frequency range.