Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Voltage drop monitor across load

Status
Not open for further replies.

dimoune

Hello,

First of all, I want to mention that I am a complete novice in electronics. Having said that, I have a 28v dc power supply and it goes through a current regulator. The output of the load is normally 12v or more. I am looking for a circuit to monitor voltage drop below 10v in the load. I want to have a led light up when load voltage is above 10v and another led to light up if voltage drops below 10v. I also want the led to draw power from the power supply instead of the load. How can I achieve this please? Thank you.

I cobbled up this circuit using a TL431. D1 is a Red LED and D2 is Green LED. They could actually be a Red/Green Bi-Lateral LED like this. Green is on when the voltage is above 10V; Red is on when the voltage is below 10V.

V1, R4, and V2 is how I modeled your 28V supply, the current limiter, and your existing load, respectively. The circuit on the right connects to the existing stuff at 28V, load, and Gnd.

The circuit has a >100KΩ input impedance, so shouldn't perturb your load... Current draw from the 28V supply is less than 20mA.

I sweep the voltage across the load V(load) from 11V to 9V along the X-Axis as the independent variable, while I(D1) Red trace and I(D2) Green trace shows what happens in the two LEDs. Note that there is a small region around V(load)=10.06V where neither LED is on.

10Vdet.gif

Last edited: