Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Transistor Guru's Needed, Help me, Help the community

Status
Not open for further replies.

burners

Recently I took on a rather ambitious project which entails controlling some PC fans based on tempurature and other variables.
I broke the project up into sections and have each section done except controlling the fans. What I'm confused about is Transistors in general.

Just to give some background, I'm a level 3 sys admin and am extremely knowledgable in PC's but not electronics. I have some programming background and have always had a love for electronics but only recently got into the hobby seriously.

I have read a few books to help build up my electronics knowledge and since I know VB and not C which is what most Micro's use, I have also been learning C++ and C# for use on .Net Micro controllers like the FEZ. Currently I am playing with a few Arduino's because they appear to be able to do what I want and are easy to program.

As I finish each section of my project I have been detailing the steps to post on my website so others can learn from my experience. I would like to give a lesson on Transistors for the next step in my project but I myself have some questions, so I was hoping I could get some answers from experienced individuals which effectively will be compiled into a nice lesson for others to learn from.