Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Super simple oscillator

Status
Not open for further replies.

mozly

So I just started electronics and I'm a comeplete noob. I'm trying to build an oscillating circuit in which an led flashes. I wanna build this circuit using no ICs just components.

So far here is what I have: The problem with this circuit is that the led does not go dark again.**broken link removed**

ALL help and suggestions are welcome

Last edited:
Who said the circuit works? Where did you get it from?
Why don't you build a circuit that DOES work:
**broken link removed**

Try raising the value of the 470k to 1Meg or more. You might want to add a small value resistor (47 ohms?) in series with the cap to limit the peak current.

BTW, your transistor part numbers were swapped.

Last edited:
The circuit above is a particularly bad design.
Here is an improved version:
Flasher-1A.gif

Even with these improvements, the circuit is not a good design.
The circuit is very critical to supply voltage. It will not work at 4.5v and does not work at 9v.
The flash rate is very low at 9 seconds for 22u and 4 seconds for 10u.
However the current is less than 20uA and does not alter when the LED flashes. The energy from the electrolytic is passed to the LED with no load-resistor wastage.

Last edited:
thx for all the Help. But, I tried both schematics with the correct parts yet the led does not oscillate, it merely turns on.