Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Strange (Gr-eek) PSU

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheOne

I found this PSU **broken link removed**
on one of the links posted by a member on this forum. Being an old PSU designer myself, I took a closer look at it. The first thing I noticed was that it was drawn in a very unconventional (maybe not for the Greek designer) way with the GND at +ve and the input at -ve. Looking at the diagram I was convinced that this design was flawed and could not possibly work. I even tried to read the diagram upside down :? to try and figure out the operation in a conventional way, just incase I missed something.

So I decided that I will plug the circuit into my simulator to prove that the designer/circuit was wrong and myself correct. :p

Well the first diagram showed the result after just firing up the simulator. (My component numbering order is different that Sam's). I was very surprised :shock: when I adjusted the pot and the output varied between 50 - 60V! (as promised in the article)
I thought, well maybe the designer was more clever than I thought in his own unconventional way. So I decided to evaluate the regulation, response and ripple rejection in some hope to find something wrong to say "Ha!" to. (just to make me feel better)