Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Sound Reactive LEDs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sizer

Firstly Hi!...noob here....

Im trying to do a project with my two lads and don't know a great deal about electronics but I do know what we want to achieve

We want:

10 LED's to light up to music (all at the same time not a bar type thing).
To be able to turn it off and on.
To be able to turn off the light syncing leaving "all LED's" lit.
To be able to adjust the Electret Microphone Sensitivty.
To Run off USB.

At the moment I believe the power from the Microphone needs to be amplified but I dont know how or how much to amplify it by.

The Mic :
(0dB = 1V/µbar at 1kHz, Vcc = 4.5V, Rl = 1kΩ) 60dB ±3dB
**broken link removed**

Done a bit more digging around and found these circuits which I mocked up in iCurcuit....

Source for the left one : https://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2012/11/picaxe_sound.pdf
Source for the right one (with video) : http://www.ledhoops.net/2011/10/01/sound-to-light-with-an-electret-microphone/

They both seem to work when simulated so was hoping for some input on wether they will actually work, which ones better or if there is a better solution.

Any help appreciated.

You are being RIPPED OFF by being charged nearly 7.5 times as much money for a no-name-brand electret mic that costs much less everywhere else.

Why are the new schematics NEGATIVE images?

The first schematic WILL NOT WORK as I explain on my POSITIVE image.