Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Some general info needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pooger

Hi everybody, i'm new to this stuff (although I've been a student for 3 years lol.. about time to get involved, eh?), and since the summer's approaching I'm going to have some free time to explore the hobby side of electronics.. Anyways I'd like to know what equipment I need to do some circuit design (analog and digital), and more importantly, where to get it at a reasonable (i.e. really really cheap) price. In the labs the university has digital oscilloscopes, function generators, power supplies, etc, and I'd like to get a similar (albeit stripped down) version at home.

If someone would be so kind as to list the equipment and tools needed to get into this hobby, it would be much appreciated, as well as where one could purchase the stuff online or through private sale.

Thanks in advance.

A 3rd yr EE student, son of some friends, visited for the weekend and he brought his Global Specialties 505 - nice - $400 or so US. There are simpler versions of this, I think, available from others - Jameco might be one, try MCM Electronics - $200 US as I recall. I have built poor man's versions of these by purchasing the breadboards and adding my own power supplies. Hamfests - ham radio conventions if you will, are good places to find these things. End of May or early June is Rochester hamfest, Dayton, Ohio is mid-May. I am sure there are some near you.