Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple Relay Timer

Status
Not open for further replies.

CPM169

Hi everyone, this is my first post here. I'm a novice and would like help with this circuit (see JPG file below). I need a N/O push-button to activate a relay for less than one hour. This relay would switch power between a solar cell and a 9-V battery.

I'm guessing that the solution would be to drain a capacitor at a slow rate through the relay coil.

I would like to use the existing 9-V battery to run this new circuit if possible.

This is a present for my daughter and I don't want the battery to die too soon because she will forget to switch it back to solar power at one point I'm sure.

Thanks in advance for you time helping me!

Attachments

• 9Vtimer.jpg
    9Vtimer.jpg
    235.5 KB · Views: 261
I don't want the battery to die too soon
In that case it would be better to do the switching with transistors instead of a relay. A relay coil drains much more current from the battery than transistors would.

Thanks! The relay was just my first idea. If I were to do the switching with transistors, what would that circuit look like?

I have also been toying with the idea of using a 555 timer but I'm really not that familiar with it. Any suggestions on that?