Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Should I buy a Digital O-scope???

Status
Not open for further replies.

diy didi

Hi there everyone.
I have been doing electronic Audio Repairs for about 5 years now. I have an analog Tektronix 453 O-scope, that I picked-up second hand a couple of years ago. Recapped it, and it works great.
With the new digital age and all, is it a good idea to invest in a good DSO? I was looking at the Rigol DS1052E.
I mean will it come in handy over my Tek scope???

On a strictly "convenience" level, an emphatic yes.

I've been using a DSO (plenty on EBay for <$100 USD. I've got the MicroSD DSO201) for a couple of years now. Only good to 1MHz input, but for audio work it's the aces. Don't pitch the textonix, but by all means get a DSO.

Pocket size, charges off a USB port, open source (although I've never used anything put the OS it came with), built is sig gen.

I love it.

<EDIT> And by itself (i.e., not hooked to a grounded USB source for power) you don't have to worry about introducing ground loops into the circuit your testing.

Last edited:
I have a couple of decent CROs in the main workshop, and still prefer them for some analogue display tasks and general workshop use.