Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

RF ID Enabled Door.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeyes56

Hi,
I don't know if this is the right place to post it, please forgive me if not.

I'm an Computer Engineering Student, and I have a subject of PROJECT STUDY, where we build/create devices related to Computer Engineering.

I got an idea of making an RFID Enabled Door, where an RF tag is attached to an ID. To be able to enter that door, the RF tag in the ID should present/pass/read to an "RF Reader".

In this case, I'm not much knowledgeable on RF, i would like to ask if someone could help me to determine what are the types of RF Reader, tag, RF Encoder to program the tag if needed.

i just need to know how to get the data from the RF Reader.

For future refference, please try to avoid multiple posts, it gives us a head ache when we have to read all of them. Just edit your first post so that all the information is in one place.

As for your post, there are lots of ways to go about doing this. Using a microcontroller would be the best option since it would be more portable than having a computer based system. In the link you posted it shows an Arduino, these are fairly easy to program and just about anyone can do it with a bit of practice.