Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Raising a resistnace 4x through a range?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Norcal02

Alright guys, I'm a serious newb here. I used to be into all sorts of odd little electronic projects, but it's sort of all left me and I can't get my head around this problem I have.

In the real world, it's adapting a fuel sender that reads 60:eek:hm: empty, and 8.25:eek:hm: full, and need to use a gauge, that conveniently enough reads 240:eek:hm: empty, and 33:eek:hm: full. I need some serious help to figure out some way to raise the resistance at every point along the range of 60:eek:hm: to 8.25:eek:hm: -exactly- four times.

Possibile without anything too complicated?
TIA for any ideas you all can come up with.

Gauges aren't measured in :eek:hm: s. By "33:eek:hm: full", do you mean that it reads full when connected to 12V via a 33:eek:hm: resistor? If this is the case then the gauge needs 400mA for full deflection. Your sender being 8.25:eek:hm: would require 3V to deliver 400mA. Try running it on 3V and see if that works.

Mike.

Sorry about that, the voltage is what could be changed easiest to get the desired result. I was just trying to think of it in terms of resistance only. The bigger picture sure brings in quite probably the proper way to solve it. Dur dur.