Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need some help for a FM LIFI communication

Zter

Good morning Miss, Mister.
I am a student in engineering, and I like to develop sensors and other devices myself for specific purposes.

I got the idea to make high data rate wireless underwater communications using lasers and photodiodes, in the same way a LIFI system works.
The first major issue is that (sea)water diffuses light a lot, and with the ambient light, which becomes noise in our case, interpreting directly the output of the photodiode, like every lifi project I see at first glance on the Internet, becomes impossible due to the level of noise.
I decided to circumvent this issue by modulating the laser's imput with FM, thus the signal I would look for would be in a specified bandwidth, and could be demodulated with PLL.
I bought some CD4046 PLL ICs, some photodiodes but I have no idea if the PLL working will be affected by the signal not-fixed amplitude (depending on tge angle of the light hitting the photodiode, she becomes less responsive, with increased distance, the laser beam spreads more, the surfacic energy decreases and the output of the photodiode accordingly).

If you have any suggestions about circuit I could use for modulation (a simple good quality VCO easy to power would be ideal), and demodulation, I am all ears.

Thanks in advance