Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Purchasing vintage CPUs

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, all. Sorry for the random questions but I am a self-taught electronics enthusiast.

Is it possible to buy any of the following microprocessors any more? (Including, obviously, clones or derivatives that will run unmodified code): 6502, 6809, 68000 including 680x0, 8086, 80286.

TIA,

Richard

Hi Richard,

A quick search at Jameco in Belmont, CA. I found a 6502 still for sale. Have not had a chance to go through your shopping list. Have not had chance to check ebay or other sources.

Not sure if that would be cost effective for you as you have not stated where in the world you live.

Inq

I just bought some 65C02 from ebay 2 months ago. They are the 10MHz CMOS version as compared to the generic 1MHz one used in Apple II. You can also find 1802 clones but not the original RCA ones on ebay.

**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**

For 6809, I have a few 68B09 removed from outdated PCB from my workplace. But if you do some googling, you should be able to find them from eBay or electronics stores like electronic gold mine or Arrow or Jemeco.

You did not say what you wanted them for. Are you going to make computers out of them ot just for collection?

Allen

I <3 the RCA 1802 , made a board for it , had a 5 1/4 disk operating system 2k in 2716 eeprom. booted from battery backed cmos , is my collection of old cpus worth anything ?