Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

please help me with this project i am a noob

Status
Not open for further replies.

toprank

hi forum! I'm new here and this will also be my first project.

If you guy's can help me understand the components needed to accomplish this project, it would be grateful.

I want a series of led lights programmed to automatically turn on at certain times.

What hardware is needed in order to do this?

Do I need firmware to tell the lights when to come on?

thanks!

Do I need firmware to tell the lights when to come on?

thanks!

First off, it is really hard to tell you what you will need when your post is very vague on the specifics. What exactly are you wanting the LEDs to do. Flash a pattern, turn on in sequence, annunciate? What do you mean by "certain times"? Again, sequencial or time of day?
By "certain times" I assume you mean at a particular time of day based on the 24 hour clock. For beginners, the basic stamp is a really good place to start. It is an easy programming language to learn and easy device to implement. It is my understanding that the PIC microcontrollers are fairly user friendly as well (They must be, everyones using them.). Now I don't have any experience with the PICs personally, only what I have read and heard. Perhaps some of the other guys can expound in more detail about this. Most of my experience is with the Zilog Z8 microcontroller line. But I would not recommend that for you.

thanks!