Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PICKIT Troubleshooting/repairing

Status
Not open for further replies.

sanju sanju

Hi everyone I'm new to PIC. I brought an USB programmer(PICKIT 2 CLONE MAde in India). It was working quite well but there was an Accident, I accidently shorted ICSP pins. Now the Kit is showing VPP error. The chip18F2550 in the kit is fine. when I troubleshoot with PICKIT 2 v2.61, It says VDD short. Can anyone help me to correct it. I have posted tthe circuit diagram of my PIC Programmer.
Please help me to troubleshoot the problemView attachment 66802
The Pickit physically looks like this
View attachment 66803

Kindly help
Thanking in anticipation

Last edited:
Do you know which pins did you shorted?

Have you checked Pickit 2 programmer-> Troubleshoot to know in a better way what it's failing?

I've never seen a Vpp voltage problem, if it's a Vdd one I've managed to solve it by inputting external 5 V.

Try to check and if needed replace the Q2(2n3904). this is expected to ground the Vpp wire under PIC control thro the 100 ohm resistor. if Q2 developed a leak or short, you might get that message

Last edited:
The first three pins i.e, Vpp Vss Vdd by a needle.
this was done by my friend who didn't have the idea of kit and μcontroller

When I connect it with my PC the Red Light blinks and there is a voltage rise upto 9.71Volts and then there comes error message popping up(Vpp ERROR) and voltage falls below 3V

the programmer worked well
so values wont matter