Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC16PRO compatible chips?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NewGeek

Im a total newbie and just ordered a PIC16PRO programer from Amazon electronics. I was wondering what chips are compatible. It seems that people are using chips other than what is listed as compatible on their website. Also their website list doesnt include any EEPROM or FLASH chips (which is what I want).
Im new at this and going to make lots of mistakes, so I cant use OTP, and UV windows are too expensive. I need a good chip for an LCD display that will display values from temperature sensors.

Could someone please suggest some FLASH or EEPROM chips that I can use with this programmer? Also, is there any other software and hardware I need? (I got MPLAB and PICAll free version).
Thanks all.

It's not the P16PRO hardware but the software that defines wich chips you can program.

Go to nigel's site (www.winpicprog.co.uk) and download winpicprog, free pic programming software (you might want to register so you can download the newest beta from the forums).

When you open the software you can see wich chips it can program (lots!)... And more chips are added frequently...

As for a good chip that displays values from temperature sensors. What kind of sensors?, how many?..