Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Noob wants to understand Physical display driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

ReWallt

So I've some experience with microcontrollers and making PCB's. I've been really interested in making a PCB for a "physical" display driver(saying physical so it will not be confused with a program). But the problem is, I can't find a single tip on working with the display driver components(Not even the second page of google had any help). So I read the datasheet of the HV5812WG-G display driver. But could barley make anything out of it.

I went to other forums and told them something similiar, but the just anwswered "just read the datasheet bro".

So I want to make a PCB for a display driver, but I have no info on how to program or connect the device to a microcontroller. So would really appreciate it if someone where to help/guide me in the right direction. Or tells me where I can get the info I need.

Thank you in advance.

Entirely depends on what displays you're talking about. Smaller graphical displays mostly use serial SPI. Bigger displays often use HDMI.

The HV5812WG isn't made any more, and it's designed for driving Vacuum Fluorescent Displays (VFDs) that are also rare, so you might want to consider whether you want to use it.

If you do use an HV5812WG, it contains circuitry that is easier to understand if 4 parts of it are looked at separately:-
1629323565579.png