Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to Ignition Coils

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suraj143

Guys I'm new to ignition coils.

Today I bought a new ignition coil.Attached a picture.Its a dry type not oil type.

I just test it with a 12V / 1.2A SLA battery by just giving pulses by hand (connecting & disconnecting the negative probe).

The problem is the sparks are very small like 2mm length :(

Attachments

• Ignition_coil MIC-2000.jpg
    Ignition_coil MIC-2000.jpg
    24.3 KB · Views: 533
Last edited:
Hi Suraj143,

a good horse never jumps higher than necessary.

Why should an ignition coil produce an arc of more than 2mm lenght if the gap of the spark plug is just 0.7 to 0.9mm? :confused:

Using an ignition coil off an electronic ignition circuit for cars (that one seems to be made for motorbikes) you might get an arc length of about 5mm (but a nasty shock when you touch wires).

The coil must have a primary resistance of </= 0.7 Ohm

Boncuk

Hi boncuk

I'm going to build an electronics fence driver using one of your circuits (attached picture).I change the circuit to 1Hz OFF time & 30mS ON time.

I have completed the circuit all hardware & PCB.

My only problem is to choose the correct ignition coil.

But you have posted that your design works with electronics coils only!!

I asked the shop keeper that I need an electronics ignition coil but they don't know what is "electronics ignition coil" They & gave me what I show in the picture.