Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

High pass filter to block out 60Hz signal

Status
Not open for further replies.

davids85

Hello, I'm a graduate student working in geology and geophysics and (an unfortunately small) part of my thesis is to develop a seismic acquisition system to grab signals in the range of 1kHz to 20kHz.

I've built an amplifier around the LT1115 to amplify the signal from accelerometers and have run into a myriad of issues, most of which have been resolved (likely due to poor ground planes). My last major challenge is a 60Hz signal, which I'm assuming is induction from wall line from the other (commercial) amplifiers I'm using or something along those lines. What I've found is that my 1kHz to 20kHz signal rides on top of the 60Hz signal, which ordinarily wouldn't be a problem, but the inducted? 60Hz in some areas seems to be amplified to my maximum voltage of +/-10v, thus often destroying my higher frequency signal.