1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Divide by 2 and divide by 10 on one 74hc390?

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by dr pepper, Sep 18, 2017.

  1. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,757
    Likes:
    258
    Location:
    North west UK
    I've used the '390 in a few circuits and it works well, however this time I need seperate divide by 2 and a divide by 10 dividers, with seperate clock inputs and divisor outputs.
    I see the '390 has 2 counters internally, a divide by 2, ok I guess this done one of my tasks, but is it possible to use the other as a seperate divide by 10?, the datasheet is a bit vague when it comes to this.
     
  2. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,238
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi,
    The LS390 is a divide by 2 and divide by 5 sections.
    E
     
  3. MikeMl

    MikeMl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,139
    Likes:
    566
    Location:
    AZ 86334
    390.png

    Since there are two sets of counters per package, you can independently use one set as a div by 2, and the other set as a div by 10
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. AnalogKid

    AnalogKid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes:
    161
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5

    Not quite. If the /5 part is driven by the output of the /2 part, then you can get /2 and /10 outputs *from a single clock signal.*
    If you want the /2 and /10 outputs to come from separate clock signals, then a single 390 will not do what you want.

    Edit: Never mind.

    ak
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2017
  6. MikeMl

    MikeMl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,139
    Likes:
    566
    Location:
    AZ 86334
    I take this to mean that there are two divide-by-2 and two divide-by-5 stages per package. Why can't you create separately clocked divide-by-2 and divide-by-10 counters out of them?

    390.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2017
  7. AnalogKid

    AnalogKid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes:
    161
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5
    I missed the parenthetical pin numbers in post #3, and thought the 390 was simply an updated version of the 90, not a dual component. oops.

    ak
     
  8. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,757
    Likes:
    258
    Location:
    North west UK
    Thats Ok I did the same thing, thats why I couldnt work out how the heck you get /100 from one of these.

    I need 50Kc and 10Kc from 10Mc, so /100 with one '390, then /2 with one quarter of a '390, and /5 with t'other quarter, that'll get me what I need, not sure if the 10kc will be a square wave or not.
    My original thought was /100 then /2 to get 50Kc, and /100 then /10 to get 10Kc, but seeing as these things are not synchronous /2 and /5 might be better phase wise.
     
  9. MikeMl

    MikeMl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,139
    Likes:
    566
    Location:
    AZ 86334
    output from divide by 5 is not a square wave; divide by 2 is.
     
  10. Les Jones

    Les Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes:
    191
    Location:
    Lancashire UK
    Why not use the first 390 to divide the 10 Mhz down to 100 Khz then one of the second 390's divide by two to 50 Khz square wave then use the other half of the second 390 to divide the 100 Khz by 5 then 2 to get the 10 Khz square wave ?
    Edit. I have just realised that this was suggested in post #7 Another suggestion would be to configure the first 390 so 500 Khz and 100 Khz outputs were available and then divide each of these by 10 using each half of the second 390 (Both halfs configured /5 /2)

    Les
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2017
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,757
    Likes:
    258
    Location:
    North west UK
    My head hurts.

    Yep get it now, can do that, the 10kc doesnt need to be symmetrical, I'll lash it up on breadboard and see if it'll work.
    There may be a way to get both 10kc and 50kc symmetrical, I'm using 2 '390's, so I'll have 4 /2's and 4 /5's there may be a config where its possible to have the 2 freq's outpuuted from the /2's making them symmetrical.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2017
  12. AnalogKid

    AnalogKid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes:
    161
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5
    10 M > /5 > /2 > /5 > /2 = 100 K (1 full 390 #1)

    100 K > /2 = 50 K (1/4 390 #2)
    Same 100 K > /5 > /2 = 10 K (1/2 390 #2)

    All outputs are 50/50 symmetrical. There is one /5 section (1/4 390 #2) not used.

    ak
     
  13. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,757
    Likes:
    258
    Location:
    North west UK
    See I knew if I was lazy and waited someone would think of a way for me.
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page