Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

cpld programming rpm tricker

Status
Not open for further replies.

nomadaz666

cpld programming rpm tricker (answered/done)

I'm new to cpld's (VERY new, as in I just started reading up on them the other day) but it looks as if it may be the answer I'm looking for.

I want to measure (count) an input shaft rpm, which pulses 8 times per revolution.
so I figured count for 250ms, divide by 2. (I know 125ms would give correct reading but I want the half rpm resolution)
I then want to display this rpm on 3 7 segment led's.
I also want a 4bit binary switch as an input (0-15) as I want to manipulate the output signal by lowering the rpm reported.
so I need to subtract this input from the measured rpm.
now to give back the correct signal I multiply this result by 8 for my new frequency.
I then send it out using the pwm 50%duty cycle at the new frequency.

If I'm understanding this correctly, CPLD's allow schematic AND vhdl code (where I can put the simple math) both to the fitter. I'd like to know what programs I need to accomplish this, how long one would guestimate the learning curve is to accomplish this. as far as the programmer goes I intend to build my own using the jtag programming method. seems simple enough.

I have drawings to maybe clear up any of my ramblings here:
**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**

Last edited:
Nomadaz666, I think Nigel Goodwin is right that a micro computer can do this better.