Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Circuit Help - 4017

Status
Not open for further replies.

Akd

Hi

Hi i am Andrew and I am new to this forum. I am in need of some help as i am a novice to electronics, but i can solder ok. The last time i did electronics was in high school about 12 years ago.

I am trying to create a simple circuit using the 4107 decade coutner.

What i am trying to acheive is basically a circuit that when you press a single central button, the next light in sequence lights up, and the previous light turns off.
There are 10 white leds in a circle. And like i said, when you press the button, the led in position 1 turns off and the #2 turns on. Each time you press the button, the next led lights up.

I was told that i need to use the 4017 decade counter and transisters between the light and the counter. I am not sure if this is right or not, but any help is greatly appriciated.
If anyone has created this type of circuit, or can give me any help in being able to make it, that would be grealty appriciated.

Thanks again
Andrew D

The only way i can see transistors as a requirement is if you needed large amounts of current to drive a motor or something similar.

for LED's, they can be taken directly from the chip.