Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

amplifying a signal from a load cell with ad623

Status
Not open for further replies.

djacinto

Hi,

I’m trying to build a force sensor using a load cell from a kitchen scale for a project (I'm a marine biologist with no experience with electronics). My ultimate goal is to make a stand-alone force sensor and data logger to measure wave forces in a coastal area.
However I'm stuck in the first steps of the project.

The output signal from the sensor is 0.44 mV (at rest) to 18,2 mV (with load), and I’m trying to amplify it with an ad623 amplifier (Gain=100).
I don’t seem to be having much success with the amplification step. As the output voltage is -0.93V, for whatever gain I use, and regardless of the load I put on the loadcell.

Can you tell me what am I doing wrong?

The circuit I made is as follows:

**broken link removed**

Thanks!

Hi,

I’m trying to build a force sensor using a load cell from a kitchen scale for a project (I'm a marine biologist with no experience with electronics). My ultimate goal is to make a stand-alone force sensor and data logger to measure wave forces in a coastal area.
However I'm stuck in the first steps of the project.

The output signal from the sensor is 0.44 mV (at rest) to 18,2 mV (with load), and I’m trying to amplify it with an ad623 amplifier (Gain=100).