1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

A little POV with a 18f1220 and hot glue LOL

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by be80be, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes:
    144
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    Use a 1k I figured you new that
     
  2. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    heh got 20mA just by increasing speed ... Now testing delays
     
  3. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Got 35mA using 2 coils . Main is 22awg (30 turns) and and second is 22awg(15 turns)

    Added a bridge rectifier and i get 1v if Coils are on top of each other no space. about 1 inch away i get 75mV
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2010
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. MrDEB

    MrDEB Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes:
    23

    20 ma should be enought? now increase the voltage.
    still think increasing the outside powered coils number of windings should increase the voltage.
    go with 100 on outside coil and I like the two coil idea.
    pretty soon if you add more coils you could power your home? lol
     
  6. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    heh yeah. Ill probably blow out everything in my house
     
  7. MrDEB

    MrDEB Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes:
    23
    NEWS FLASH!!
    Brooklyn, NY has a massive power outtage but AtomSoft comes to the rescue using space age electronics and some wire coils provides enought powe for the entire city.
    note the power provided was derived by a large wire coil wraped around the empire state building then using inductive power technology caused power to be restored to Brooklyn, NY.
     
  8. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    LMAO lol Your funny i feel like printing that out lol
     
  9. MrDEB

    MrDEB Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes:
    23
    just send me a copy write infringement check for $1
     
  10. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    lol got it in envelope. I need a address. lol

    Hey i get 1.8v on coil 2 about 1in apart.

    So i need to make a HBRIDGE to control 12v-24v correct?
     
  11. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes:
    144
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    Yes that's what i going to try when I get time
     
  12. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Sorry about the nasty(The breadboard has tons of flux. I use this board to solder headers and stuff. It hold it in place for me so i dont get burned) looking pictures... This is still only 5v from pic... (ill try 12v later)

    I used a PILL/MEDICINE bottle to wind it heh:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      338.1 KB
      Views:
      181
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      349.9 KB
      Views:
      162
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      291 KB
      Views:
      148
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2010
  13. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes:
    144
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    I have a little one I use for that to it no longer usable for any thing else

    Looks like your getting some where now
     
  14. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Heh i have like 2 little ones and never ever use em heh... I should have thought of that ... I have only 3 breadboards that size (as in picture). I need to order more. Im so broke tho heh damn economy!!!!!
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2010
  15. MrDEB

    MrDEB Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes:
    23
    can't tell but wht range do you have your meter set to?
    1.5 what? ma or volts?
    that wire for your coils is pretty big.
    If you look at and read the links I think they are using smaller wire.
    Try 100 turns of 22g wire for powered coil and 15 turns for the inner coil.The inner coil I think needs to be smaller in diameter. At least thats what I gather from looking at the various videos
    Also try just changing the capacitors. could be the coil is not "tuned" to the correct frequency.
    Gadds I wish I was home to experiment with this. Looks like it could be fun.
    Thinking you need two meters, read the current draw as well as voltage at same time.
    There are several factors involved.
     
  16. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    yeAH. i have it set to voltage (1.5v was in video)
    It is 22AWG actually :D
     
  17. MrDEB

    MrDEB Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes:
    23
    things to consider

    Atomsofts secondary coil seems to large. looking at the link
    Wireless Power
    the secondary coil is much smaller.
    they used 40 ft of wire for the coils.
    make the 555 output adjustable then change the frequency for max output on secondary coil.
    A joule thief might be considered as the link shows 6.3v on primary and 5v secondary.
    I think if the primary voltage was say 12v then 5v on secondary w/o a joule thief should be possible?
    Can't wait to get home and play with this. Along with some noise level experiments.
     
  18. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    i dont have 40 feet lol. I have to work with what i have. Also im using a PIC not 555 to do it. I just need to make a H Bridge.. But no power transistors avail. Im not sure how much current will be played with here :D
     
  19. VISN

    VISN Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Durban,SOUTH AFRICA
  20. MrDEB

    MrDEB Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes:
    23
    link does not seem to work?
     
  21. 3v0

    3v0 Coop Build Coordinator Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes:
    227
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA USA
    The link works.
     

Share This Page