Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

24 Vac - 12Vdc Rectifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

theunfrailhale

Hello and thanks for reading this,

I am a technician in a sheet metal shop and I endup doing a lot of machine repairs. We have a machine that cuts 10 foot pieces of sheet metal, and there is a bar with standard incandescent bulbs to help you line up your cut. These Bulbs constantly burn out and blow fuses. The Bar they are mounted on moves with the cutting beam, and I think that the often jarring motion is taking its toll on the lights.

My solution is to install LED lighting which is more durable and brighter than the existing light strips. there are 15 lights spaced apx 8 inches apart in small recesses in the bar.

the current output voltage is 24 v ac.

I have done a little reading on google and found some very useful articles, but this being one of my first "electronics" ventures, i am hesitant, because i dont really know what im doing :D

Building a Power Supply - Electronics in Meccano

this is an article that i found very useful, and their package rectifier board (figure 5 at the bottom of the page) project converts 7-35 v ac into an output of 5Vdc

although i know it isnt much to assemble led circuits I may opt to go with some modules i found that seem to be useable and simple, unless i am otherwise convinced.

LBM Dimensions (mm)

these modules need an input of 10- 14.5 V DC, so the output of the afore mentioned is going to be insufficient.