Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

1 switch and 3 LEDs question.

Status
Not open for further replies.

tee_2

First let me say I am a electronics newbie. I can get LEDs to light up, and a have played around with logic gates, but that is it. So go easy on me.

I need to know how I can do this.

I want to have 3 LEDs one white, one red, and one green. There will 3-4 super brights that will make up and array for each color.

At the start the white LED will be on,

switch push white LED will go off, and the green LED will go on

switch push green will go off, and red will go on.

switch push again will go green, then back to red, then green, you get the idea here.

then a way to reset back to the white to start over. (second switch)

Can I do this with logic gates, I have an assortment of gates that I bought to learn some basic electronics. I know that it would be best to use a micro possessor and I have some AVR's and a STK500, but that is way over my head. But is where I know I will need to go. But I just want to see if this will work.

When/If I get this to work there will be 10 arrays of switches, and LEDs, with a last LED that will light up when all 10 LEDs are green. And at some point a way to set a time limit, like all LEDs green in 15 seconds. That is the big picture but for now I just need a quick way to do this wiht what I have or can get easy.

Thanks
Todd