1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Wind energy to electric energy

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Vaibhav Birit, Dec 13, 2004.

  1. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,324
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    Yes, peak to peak is double the value of peak, so when you rectify it the zero to peak value will only be 3 volts or so.
     
  2. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i got my magnets today from www.windstuffnow.com :D :D :D
    that was quick !!!
    man O' man are they strong.!!
     
  3. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    ok after i put just two magnets on a strip of steel..
    and passed them over "just one" of the thinner wire armatures ..
    i got 2V peak to peak !!!!
    that is amazing !!
    imagine how much voltage i could get with a magnet on either side of the coil.. like the double rotors of earlier discussion..
    that is , an armature set , sandwiched between two rotors with magnets attracting each other..
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey

    this is my current test fixture..
    i need a lathe damnit! lol
    the smaller silvery magnets are much more powerful than the larger magnets..
    With the eight home depot magnets still in place and the eight new Neodymium magnets i just got 10V p-p :D
     

    Attached Files:

  6. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i am pondering the idea of putting some iron core/ laminates in the center each winding , anyone have any thoughts . would it be a good or bad idea ? and why ?
    would it be a waste of time or could i get more voltage out of it if i used laminates or would they just interfere with the simplicity of the generator ?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. bryan1

    bryan1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,680
    Likes:
    46
    Location:
    Adelaide Hills Sth Oz
    Eh WilliB,
    I'm sure on windstuffnow you can but 10" disc's off them cheap about 10 bucks I think. I'm sure Ed could supply you with a disc you need just take a look.


    Cheers Bryan1 :D
     
  8. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i'm at the point in the design stage where i need more info..
    i need to know how much torque the savonios wind generator can produce ..
    i am thinking of one the size of a 5 gal bucket..
    i need to know if a 3 to 2 gear ratio is to much or if a 1 to 1 is best..
    i found a source for sprockets and chains..
    https://sdp-si.com/eStore/Direct.asp?CP=Index.htm
    i am going to use a chain because
    1) low losses involved in transferring power
    2) so i dont have to connect the savonius wind generator directly to the top of the rotor..
    just thinking out loud so to speak..
     
  9. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i found a 8 inch plywood saw blade at home depot to use for the rotor ( just gotta grind off the teeth..) $6.95
    and i found a 2 gal bucket for the savonius part at the dollar store..
     
  10. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    another update on the output of the Permenant Magnet Generator project ::
    i am now getting 15 V p-p with 7 armatures and 16 mannets spaced as above .. the plan is to use 8 armatures .. Each armature has a resistance of about 0.9 to 1.0 ohms..
    the sine wave is sweet , BTW .. the faster it goes the more voltage you get from it..
    This is all spinning the rotor by hand , somewhere around 150 RPMs ..
     
  11. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    am i talking to myself here ?
    anyway

    the first pic is the new rotor built on an 8 inch saw blade.. with the http://www.windstuffnow.com/ magnets mounted sort of where they will end up..
    the second pic is the savonius wind generator part with a cd on top for size reference..it is built with a 2 gal bucket
    i have another disk like the base to put on top courtesy of home depot , it came from a used spool from the electrical wire section ..
    as for bearings , i have two that i can use , i am going to ues fiberglass resin to secure them in place..
     

    Attached Files:

  12. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Oh well :( the plywood disks arent cutting it.. too heavy
    too much mass to react fast enough to a gust of wind..
    i'm thinking 1/8" plexyglass would work much better..
     
  13. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Plexi-glass works much better.. :)
    it turns with the air from two 12V pc fans..
     
  14. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    EDIT : just the savonius part turns with the wind from the pc fans i havnt hooked the generator to it yet
    i think that i will put the generater underneath after all..
     
  15. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I havnt mentioned it yet but i plan on using a PIC controller to monitor the rotation speed of the generator and compare it to an Anemometer..
    If the generator slows down compared to the speed of the wind meter then i could disconnect the load till it speeds up again..
     
  16. slodown

    slodown New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
    "Still living...not dead yet" :lol: Still reading along, mate. Great work.

    You can make a lathe from a hand drill, but I cannot find the link just yet.

    *********
    found a One for a CNC machine
    http://www.pathcom.com/~vhchan/cnc/cnc.html

    foam lathe
    http://www.dansworkshop.com/Hot wire foam cutting.shtml
     
  17. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    thanks for the links ..
    I think that i am going to use one of my 5 1/4 hard drive spindle /motor assemblies for the lathe , i allready used it to fabricate the plexi glass , that and a dremmel , worked pretty well..
    the nice thing about using the assembly is that you can bolt it down with three screws , the holes are allready there..
    one of hard drive (assemblies) also had a linear slide which could be used as a tool holder with some modifications..
     
  18. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
  19. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    another update ::
    I just mounted ONE armature , and when i spin it fast , I get 4 Volts p-p !! .. from one armature !!
    that works out to 32 V single phase p-p ..Eight armatures at 4 V each.. i wonder if it will turn out that way..
    i have the spindle mounted on a very flat board of mahagany and the armature mounted to the board .. the spacing between the magnets and the armatures is less than 0.010 of an inch , which i believe is critical to get maximum voltage ..
     
  20. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    that white paper between the base and everything else is a layout of where to put the armatures..
    as you can see i am only using two pieces of threaded rod to mount the armatures that seems for now to be enough..
     

    Attached Files:

  21. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    neat waveform huh ?
    this is from one armature and two magnets , and a light spin . and 1 V/ Div
    its amazing how This turns into a sinusoidal wave with evenly spaced magnets and armatures..
    the first negetive going pulse is when the armature encounters the first magnet..
    the positive spike is when the armature encounters both magnets ..
    the second negetive going pulse is when the second magnet leaves the armature..
    when you spin it the other way the waveform is inverted.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page