Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need Help With Sound Acivated LED Project

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys, just want you all to know that I'm a beginner with this kind of stuff. So far I have a somewhat working circuit, with one problem.

This is what I'm pretty much making, showing the circuit. (https://www.instructables.com/id/Music-LED-Light-Box/step6/Building-the-circuit/)

My circuit looks like that, except instead of the 12V battery I'm using a 12V DC wall plug. Also I have 4 LED lights all connected positive to negative and so on.

These are my LED lights I ordered and using at the moment. (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007RO9X82/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1)

My problem is that the LED lights are very dim throughout most of the song. And sometimes they're unresponsive. What I did notice is that if I squeeze/press prong #1 on the Tip31, the LED lights get bright. When they go unresponsive, I give the first prong a little squeeze to get them going again. Why is this happening? Also, how come this circuit seems to work for everyone who makes this except for me?

I've been dealing with this issue for almost a week, trying to research as much as I could, but I came up with nothing and now here I am. Thanks everybody, much appreciated!

'My problem is that the LED lights are very dim throughout most of the song. And sometimes they're unresponsive. What I did notice is that if I squeeze/press prong #1 on the Tip31, the LED lights get bright.'