Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Voice Over Powerline (in-house)

Status
Not open for further replies.

le_chiffre

Hi! I'm new here. My name is Iñaki, and I'm from Argentina. I'm an electronic engineering student.
Now I'm working in a X10 project for home automation purpose as a homehowork for a Digital and Analogue Communications class. X10 is soooo slow, and only transmits for a short time of the 50hz/60hz signal. So I thought that maybe I could add some voice over powerline function in between X10 signals.
Anyone knows anything about voice over powerline (for in-house use, like talking from bedroom to kitchen) ? What kind of modulation is recommended (analogue (AM, FM), digital? It's a hard task to do? I don't care much for fidelity, so a little noise I think is not a problem.
Thank you very much, and please excuse my english (any criticism in this aspect is also welcome)

Just amplitude modulation on a 20Khz carrier is fine.
Capacitive coupled to the line.

It was quite common back in the 1970's, and wireless intercoms were freely available - however, performance was always questionable?. There was quite a big movement towards both data and voice communication via the mains wiring, but it never really came to much, and it really died away. It was normal to use a low RF carrier, with either AM or FM used, but with FM prefered.

I still have a pair of Tandy (UK Radio Shack) wireless intercoms at home.

Thanks, chemelec & Goodwin.