Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Velleman Programmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

david miles

Hello.

This is my first attempt at PIC programming. I have the 8048 programmer.

When I try to "write", I get the message " K8048 not found at COM 1".

I already have Picaxe programme editor installed on my PC, and I am wondering if there is a conflict, but I do not know how to configure COM 1.

Also, I could not find a serial cable to use with the 8048 programmer, so I made up a temporary one, connecting pins 2,3 and 5 "straight" not crossed in any way.

Has anyone any idea as to why things are not working?

David Miles.

Hi drage.

I am trying to get the sample "running led" programme working, using the supplied 16F727 micro. The software is included with the programmer on a mini disc. Compiling uses MPASMWIN and programming uses PROGPIC2.

David Miles.

Your cable has to be wired 9pin to 9pin straight through plug to skt going from what I see on the schematic...it is not actually using an rs232 protocol, rather, it's using the com port to control the various switching transistors etc

i too purchased this pic programmer from maplins recently.

I found the supplied serial cable worked fine..

if you're on windows its quite simple to see whats on what com port:
go to control panel, system, then hardware, then device manager.
From here you can look at :
(ex): Ports (COM & LPT...)

hth
Paul

Thanks for replies.