Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using 100 LM2577/XL6009 to provide 16v @ 200amps from 12v input?

Status
Not open for further replies.

toysareforboys

Hello! This is my first time here. I apologize in advance for the long post/questions.

I've built in the trunk of my car a 16.2v maximum capacitor bank (500 farads) and installed two 14v XSPower D1400 batteries (charge at 16v, not connected to anything yet), in addition to the factory battery (it comes in the trunk stock). I wish to run my aftermarket car stereo amplifiers at 16v off the capacitor bank and D1400 batteries but the rest of the car at the stock voltage level off the factory battery/charging system.

My amplifiers draw 230amps total (at 12v ish, not sure if they are any more efficient at 16v).

Because my car (2007 Chevy Cobalt SS/SC) uses an ECU controlled alternator that's impossible to swap without getting a check engine light (not possible to pass emissions check with SES light here) and it's not possible to install a second alternator, my plan to make my 16v dreams come true is:

1. To use 100 of these: **broken link removed**

2. Replace the potentiometer with a fixed resistor (to make sure all the output voltages match perfectly). No idea how to calculate which resistor would get me bang on 16v output. And I need really tight regulation too seeing as my cap bank is maximum 16.2v, but I've read that the regulation on those boards is really good.

3. Attach all 100 of them to a single really nice heatsink.