Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Transmitting sound through radio digitally

Status
Not open for further replies.

Integrate

Hello. I'm new here, and I want to do a little project for fun but I'm not too experienced with some of the components of the project. I was hoping that I could get some help/suggestions on what to do:

I want to make a walkie-talkie like device. I want a transmitter that will take AtoD signals from a microphone + amplifier into a pic (18f1320), which I plan to sample at 8000 times a second. Then, the pic will send the AtoD data serially through a RF transmitter.

The reciever will have a RF reciever, which will be connected to a pic. It will then use a R-2R resistor ladder to create an analogue signal, which will be sent to an amplifier and speaker.

Now I have a few problems that I need to work out. The first of which is speed. I've browsed around on some past posts and other places online and I found that a AtoD sample rate of 8K is phone quality sound. I do not know if this is true or not, so I need some confirmation on that. Also, what would it take to do mp3 quality sound?

I also need some sort of RF transmitter and reciever. I have no knowledge about how to make these, I tried this one once for another project and it didn't work at all for me: