Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Transistor modes and maybe mosfets.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrz126

I'm studying for a test in my microelectronics class, and I'm having some difficulty remembering what the tests are to see if the transistor is in Forward Active Mode or Saturation mode.
For both cases ib > 0A, (or else it is cut off).
In my notes I have:
Vcb > -0.4V for npn and Vcb <-0.4V for pnp in F.A.M.
Is this correct? My friend who took the course last year said that it should be Vc<Vb for a pnp. So I'm confused?? If i do use the -0.4V, where does that value come from?

Now for Saturation mode, am I just checking to see if the calulated Beta (by using a ratio of the currents, like Ic/Ib) is less than the given Beta?
Where would I use the Vce(sat)=0.2V that is given to me?

Once I get to studying the MOSFET stuff, I may add a post about them as well.

Thanks for the help

Here's my 2 cents;

For a transistor to operate normally the base should be reversed biased with respect to the collector and forward biased against the emitter. So for a NPN, base less positive than collector. For a PNP just the opposite, base less negative than collector. I am not sure where the 0.4v fits in, 0.6 or 0.7 I know :?

Vcb > -0.4V for npn and Vcb <-0.4V for pnp in F.A.M.
This implies that Vce(sat) is 0.2 volts, which is not universly true. In the active mode, the Vcb is usually positive.