Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

SSR H-bridge motor control

Status
Not open for further replies.

AndyTJ

Good afternoon, I have little knowledge in electronics but I'm posting on behalf of my teammate.

We have been given the task to design and build an electric wheelchair to satisfy a brief for a competition we are in. We have to build everything from scratch in a limited time window so everything we use must be available in flat pack form and must be fairly quick to build up.

Initially we were using mechanical relays without the ability to freewheel, but this was unsafe as it would throw you out of the chair - literally.
So we implemented freewheeling but then we were having major issues with the relays fusing from the back emf and large spikes being caused.